CopyCat Cafe: Kat Meets The Ex

Continues from here.

Ok so I made the call, spoke to Simon and his final words were for me to drop around any time. Of course when I went back inside Sonya was all questions.

“What did he say?”

“When will you see him?”

I reminded Sonya that Simon was married and that like me she had, on more than one occasion, spoken to said wife. She reminded me what Simon and I did on the table out the back of the shop. I was actually shocked at the statement, I actually thought we were unable to be seen from that end of the table, but obviously I was wrong. Sonya promised me she was the only one that knew, I reminded her who paid her wage. We both stopped talking about Simon.

We stopped for all of about 20 minutes before Sonya brought it up again. I could see I wasn’t going to get any peace on the matter so I gave her a brief run down.

“So when are you going?”

“In case you haven’t noticed I have a cafe to run here.” I told her, to which I was told I had capable staff that could run the place while I was gone. For a second time I reminded Sonya that Simon was married and I had no intention of being the ‘other woman’ even if they were essentially separated. Sonya has worked for me long enough to know how I felt when my ex-husband cheated on me which means she’s also knew how I felt about being the other woman.

“C’mon Kat just go for it, you’re not the other woman and besides you’re just visiting his shop to thank him for the CD’s.”

“And not long back he was just visiting me at a cafe and look how that ended.”

“Yes on the picnic bench with you smiling for the rest of the day, now get out of here.”

By lunch time Sonya had talked me into leaving, I was nervous, I was edgy and I was tempted to just go straight home for an hour and come back to work telling Sonya I’d visited but nothing happened. I knew she wouldn’t believe me but she’d have no proof and I wouldn’t have done anything I’d regret.

However, who’s to say I was going to regret it? That’s what my mind told me as I walked straight to the Music Barn instead of straight home. Walking into the shop I stepped around the shelf and into the center of the store, there was no one else but me in the store, but the door buzzer had gone off as I entered so I expected someone to greet me before long. What I didn’t expect was to be greeted by HER!

I was about five steps from the counter when SHE walked through the doorway from the back of the store.

“What the hell are you doing here,” I thought.

“Good afternoon,” she greeted me, “is there anything I can help with. Oh you’re the woman from the cafe, aren’t you?”

“Um, yeah I am, and I’m just browsing thanks.”

I made a point looking at whatever CD’s were on the shelf in front of me as if browsing was exactly what I was there for. Sadly I was standing in front of the hip hop section and I had absolutely no interest in what I was looking at. I moved to the next rack, away from the counter and closer to the door, if Simon wasn’t coming out I wasn’t hanging around.

There was no more conversation as I browsed the next rack but I could feel she was watching me and each time I turned my head I could see her staring at me. I moved one more rack along, I was at the country and western section, I still had little interest in the music but the covers looked better.

I was only two racks from the door when I heard a voice in my ear.

“I know who you are!”

Startled I turned around and SHE was standing right behind me.

“Yeah I serve you and your family coffee occasionally on a Saturday.”

“And you’re fucking my husband!”

“Excuse me?”

“I know it’s you, I’ve seen the way you look at him with those stupid fucking doe eyes every time you serve him coffee. I’ve seen the way you talk to him when you think I’m not watching.”

I tried to keep things civil and friendly. “I’m sorry ma’am but I have no idea what you are talking about. If you’ll excuse me I must be on my way.”

“You know at first I thought it was that young bimbo you work with. I thought she was the logical choice. I actually thought he had better taste than to chase the old bag.”

“Excuse me miss, but I honestly do not know what you are talking about.”

“Honey, I wasn’t born yesterday, I know you’re fucking my husband and you’re not going to get away with it. Whores like you are a dime a dozen, your not the first he’s fucked and you wont be the last, but I’m telling you now you better keep looking over you shoulder, cause one day I’ll be there and I’ll rip your cheating heart out.”

I really don’t know why I reacted with words instead of walking out but I did. There was no thoughts in my mind about making the situation worse for Simon. I wasn’t even scared of her silly pathetic threat I just decided I need to say my peace.

“What do you care? You don’t want him, you don’t want to be married to him. All you want him for is his money and to make his life hell.”

“That doesn’t mean he’s yours to take bitch!”

I’d had enough I wasn’t going to stand there and take mouthfuls of abuse from a woman I didn’t like and I definitely wasn’t going to bring myself down to her level. I turned away and walked straight for the door. Before I was out the door completely I heard her angry voice.

“And don’t fucking come back.”

Walking back to work I couldn’t figure out who I was more annoyed at HER for being the bitch she was, Simon for being hot enough that I actually wanted to see him, Sonya for talking me into going or myself for being silly enough to do it. All I knew was that heading back to work was going to be better than sitting at home brooding.

When I walked back behind the counter at the cafe Sonya didn’t need to ask how things went, she could see from the look on my face it wasn’t good. Not only that she knew not to ask me about it immediately.

By the time I was back in the kitchen my mobile was ringing. I threw the phone on the bench letting it ring out while I checked the waiting orders lists. On the fifth ring Sonya walked into the kitchen.

“That bad was it?” she asked. I ignored.

The phone stopped ringing.

When I didn’t grab for the phone Sonya said, “Holy shit it must have been really bad.”

I decided to tell her what happened, there was no point not telling her, she wouldn’t let up until I did and I just wanted to get it out there. I gave her the full run down, without the expletives, several times we were interrupted by Francis and Pheobe, the casual staff, but I kept talking and they just got on with their jobs.

Sometime during our discussion my phone beeped indicating a text message, I ignored it and forgot about it as we spoke. When the conversation was over Sonya reminded me of the message and told me I should read it. I said no, but when she walked out of the kitchen I couldn’t resist, I had to check it. Swiping the screen alive and entering my pass code I looked at the screen.

I’m so SORRY.
Plz call me
I’ll call you
I’m SORRY
Plz call
xxxx 🙂 

I stared at the phone wondering what I should do.

2 thoughts on “CopyCat Cafe: Kat Meets The Ex

Add yours

Tell Me Your Thoughts

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

